List of World cup winners

List of World cup winners

List of World cup winners:

In the eleven ICC Cricket World Cups held so far, five different teams have won the tournament. Australia is the most successful World Cup team having won the tournament five times, and were runner up another two times.

West Indies won the first two tournaments, and India have also won it two times. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won one tournament each. Sri Lanka (1996) and India (2011) are the only hosts to win, when they co-hosted the tournament.

Cricket World Cup, international cricket championship held at four-year intervals that is the premier contest in one-day cricket and one of the most-watched sporting events in the world.

Know more: India vs Australia Cricket Match

In 1975 the first Cricket World Cup was contested in England as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987. The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50. In 2007 Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments.

List of  Cricket World cup winners:

World Cup Winners List:

Year Winner Score Runner-Up Score Result
1975 West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets

Maximum Runs in World Cup:

Sachin Tendulkar IND 2278 56.95
Ricky Ponting AUS 1743 45.87
Kumar Sangakkara SL 1532 56.74
Brian Lara WI 1225 42.24
AB de Villiers RSA 1207 63.53

Maximum Wickets in World Cup:

Glenn McGrath AUS 1955 71
Muttiah Muralitharan SL 2061 68
Wasim Akram PAK 1947 55
Chaminda Vaas SL 1570 49
Javagal Srinath IND 1700 44

Prudential Cups (1975–1983)

The 1975 Cricket World Cup was hosted by England, The first three events were held in England and officially known as the Prudential Cup after the sponsors Prudential plc. The matches consisted of 60 overs per team, played during the day time in traditional form, with the players wearing cricket whites and using red cricket balls.

Eight teams participated in the first tournament: Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and the West Indies, together with Sri Lanka and  East Africa. The tournament was won by the West Indies, who defeated Australia by 17 runs in the final at Lord’s.

In 1979, The West Indies won a second consecutive World Cup tournament, defeating the host Team England by 92 runs in the final.

The 1983 event was hosted by England for a third consecutive time. India, an outsider, quoted at 66–1 to win by bookmakers before the competition began, were crowned champions after upsetting the West Indies by 43 runs in the final.

Asian Era (1987–1996)

The Tournament was hosted by India and Pakistan jointly in 1987 , the first time that the competition was held outside England. The games were reduced from 60 to 50 overs per innings, the current standard, because of the shorter daylight hours in the Indian subcontinent compared wth Eingland’s summer. Australia won the championship by defeating England by 7 runs in the final, the closest margin in World Cup final history.

The 1992 World Cup, held in Australia and New Zealand,  Pakistan overcame a dismal start in the tournament to eventually defeat England by 22 runs in the final and emerge as winners.

The 1996 championship was held in the Indian subcontinent for a second time. Sri Lanka win their maiden championship by defeating Australia by seven wickets in the final at Lahore.

Know More: Cricket World Cup Winners

Australian Comeback (1999–2007)

In 1999, World Cup was hosted by England jointly with Scotland, Ireland, Wales and the Netherlands. Twelve teams contested the World Cup. In the final, Australia beat Pakistan by eight wickets.

The 2003 World Cup was hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya jointly . Fourteen Teams were  participated in the event increased from twelve. In the final, Australia Scored 359 runs for the loss of two wickets, the largest ever total in a finals, defeating India by 125 runs.

The 2007 World Cup was hosted by West Indies . Sixteen Teams were  participated in the event increased from Fourteen. Australia defeated Sri Lanka in the final by 53 runs by D/L method.

Hosts Era (2011–2015)

This Era was specially belongs to the Hosts, Both the tournaments were won by the Hosts.

India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh together hosted the 2011 Cricket World Cup. India won their second World Cup title by beating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final in Mumbai, and became the 1st country to win the final on home soil.

Australia and New Zealand jointly hosted the 2015 Cricket World Cup.  New Zealand beat South Africa in a thrilling first semi-final to qualify for their maiden World Cup final. Australia defeated New Zealand by seven wickets in the final at Melbourne to lift the World Cup for the fifth time.

Related posts

One Thought to “List of World cup winners”

  1. Saryu Kumar

    Very informative article…….

Leave a Comment